The One Where We Rip Off David After Dentist

Over the Hedge

David After Dentist is an amazing piece of cinema verite.  As a parent, I can remember many amazing “kids say the darndest things” moments.  I just didn’t have a video camera at the time.   And if I did, would I film it?  And if I filmed it, would I post it on YouTube?

I don’t think I would.

As funny and charming as DAD is, I think it’s exploitive.  They’re running an ad before the video, so someone’s making money off it. Maybe they’re giving it all to charity.  I don’t know.   But think of David.   That video has 80 million views.  For the rest of his life, he’ll be the goofy, spaced out kid who said, “Is this going to last forever?”

No, I don’t think I would have posted it.

Would you?

1 Comment

Filed under Comic Commentary

One response to “The One Where We Rip Off David After Dentist

  1. JAS

    Nope. But then, I wouldn’t name my kid Dweeb, Apple, or Teal, either…

Leave a Reply

