The One Where We Accidentally Reference the Lost Finale

Over the Hedge

Didn’t plan it, but this week’s multiverse story-line coincides nicely with last night’s Lost finale.

I’m definitely a Lost fan.  I’ve seen every episode.  I’ve spent way too much time theorizing about the island, smoke monsters and tropical polar bears.   So, what did I think of the ending?

Sigh…   It’s complicated.

I think they wrapped most of the character stories just fine.  The sideways reality/purgatory thing was emotionally satisfying.  I teared up a bit to see the final reunion/communion.   Yes, the Christian references/symbolism were heavy-handed.  But I think it worked well.

I think the island story was handled poorly.   This show for me was never about the soap opera, it was about the mystery of the island.  The island was the hook.  If I want emo-opera, I’ll watch Grey’s Anatomy (which I do).  The producers built this huge  jigsaw puzzle.  They showed us the corners and assembled the frame and then…  well, then they gave up.   Way too many questions left unanswered.  Like, what IS the island?   What is the light/electromagnetic force?  How does it work?  Who is mother? Why does she speak Latin?  What about that cable that lead into the ocean at the end of season 1?   Why is Michael still stuck on the island?  Where is Walt?   Was Vincent lost this whole time?   Why couldn’t anyone give birth on the island except for Claire?  Why did Jin and Sun BOTH drown, leaving their baby parentless?   And on and on and on?

Most of these series finales are just bad.  Sopranos?  Twin Peaks?  Seinfeld?  They present an impossible challenge to the producers.  They just can’t connect every dot and satisfy every viewer.  Nonetheless,  I expected the Lost producers to do better. They had done such a beautiful job of setting me up.   The ending wasn’t awful.  It just felt incomplete.   I think ultimately the producers of Lost…

…got lost themselves.   Sigh.

1 Comment

Filed under Comic Commentary

One response to “The One Where We Accidentally Reference the Lost Finale

  1. Christine

    Twin Peaks ended that way cause David Lynch was mad about it being canceled so soon and disheartened more people didn’t watch it. So he took all that out on the characters.

Leave a comment